Call for Candidates for the Coalition of American Canyoneers Board of Directors

It’s election time at the Coalition of American Canyoneers. It’s time for you to decide leadership positions for the Board of Directors. We encourage new candidates to come forth during this election cycle. We have many exciting projects pending over the next two years, including dealing with the critical Grand Canyon Backcountry Management Plan. The Coalition of American Canyoneers is an organization for the members by the members and is volunteer based. We meet once per month via phone and have up to two retreats per year with electronic communication in between. We are always in need of individuals who are interested in getting involved to help us promote canyon access, conservation, education, and safety. We will hold the election via email vote from July 20 – August 2, 2015. Winners will be announced the first week of August. All board members will be invited to join our annual retreat to be held in Ouray, CO on August 9th, 2015 during the International Rendezvous.

There are five openings for a two-year term. So far the following people have declared their candidacy:

Rick Demarest (incumbent)
John Diener (incumbent)
Alane Urban (incumbent)
Mike Zampino
Lori Shindel

Two board members with terms ending, Wolf Schuster and Bill Aho, have decided not to run for re-election. We thank both Wolf and Bill for their contribution to the organization over the past years.

2015 Board of Directors’ Election

The Coalition of American Canyoneers would like to announce the 2015/2016 Board of Directors. The 2015 election has been waived in lieu of appointments due to the number of positions available and candidates. In addition, after two diligent years of service, Felicia Bicknell is resigning her position in order for three new candidates to serve. She will continue to work with the board on special projects in the Zion NP area.

Mike Zampino, Lori Shindel and Hank Moon are joining the board. Rick Demarest, John Diener, and Alane Urban have been reappointed to another term . Sonny Lawrence, Steve Ramras (Ram), and Rich Rudow round out the CAC board of directors.

To learn more about your board of directors, please visit: